Girls’ Room Make Over

So what’s a Mom to do when 3 kids are away at Grandparents’ house, husband is in Canada then pops back home to take 3 more kids away for weekend lacrosse tournament? PAINT OF COURSE!!!  I’ve been itch’n to paint and it was the girls’ room that was up next. Not only did I have all the kids out of the house to not bother me with “Mommy I need milk”, “Mommy I gotta go potty”, “Mommy I’m hungry”, “Mom I’m bored”, “Mom he’s bothering me”, “MOooooooMMMMM!!”. You get the picture. I was also heavily motivated by the fact that baby Gayley was on the verge of crawling. I mean she could have started any moment and so I was under the gun to get that room painted while I could still put her on the floor surrounded by toys and she would remain there approximately in the same spot!

Girl room reno1

It took 4 days to pull off this room make over but that included 2 half days of shopping/searching for room décor, making wall hangings, literally waiting for paint to dry on the striped accent wall, cleaning and several nursing breaks while taking care of baby girl. By the way baby was wonderful as usual and played happily on the floor or in her crib while I painted! Girl room reno2

Mary was speechless for a few seconds when the room was revealed to her! She finally got her PINK room!  She also got new sheets, new Pottery Barn Kids quilt and 2 shams and matching valance, bed skirt, blue roll pillow, vase with flowers, poms hanging above bed, teal night stand, trash basket and cloths sorted and organized in closet. The white tall dresser now holds Gayley’s cloths and the teal Southern Living container on top of the dresser holds her hair brush, nail clippers, hospital tags and other small items. I switched out the circus bumper and skirt with a pink striped bumper and put Mary’s old bed skirt on the crib. I made the pictures in the white frames with scrapbook paper I’ve had for years that I bought for another project I never got around to do. I repainted the rocking horse Mary got when she was 4yrs old.  I still have more poms to fluff and hang but that’s all for now! I love how it all turned out and everyone else did too. The Pink Princess Palace perfectly pleased my peeps!! DSC_1251

Leave a Reply

